Fewer Inspirational Quotes, More Original Thinking, Please

Stop Quoting.001The Internet has ruined quotations for me …

This blog has moved! You can check out the rest of this post here.

 

About Rob Biesenbach

Rob Biesenbach is a communications expert, actor, author and public speaker. He is a former VP at Ogilvy PR Worldwide and press secretary to the Ohio Attorney General, among other positions. He is also a Second City trained actor who has appeared in more than 150 stage and commercial productions. He brings these worlds together in his workshops and book, Act Like You Mean Business: Essential Communication Lessons from Stage and Screen, published by Brigantine Media.
This entry was posted in Communication, Most Popular, Quotes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fewer Inspirational Quotes, More Original Thinking, Please

  1. Pingback: Write in the Morning | Act Like You Mean Business

  2. Pingback: Forget the Facts; Win Their Hearts | Act Like You Mean Business

  3. Pingback: 5:16 am. And Inspired. – Lead.Learn.Live.

  4. Alex Jones says:

    Well said, I share the same irritation as you on the overuse of quotes. Using quotes or image with original thoughts is in my view the best way to deliver a message, otherwise it is like coming across a parrot uttering words it has no understanding of.

  5. Thanks, Alex — I’m finding it’s a good exercise. If everyone thought hard about it, they’d find they have important things to say.

  6. SOnia says:

    I always take time to check out Dave’s “my selection of inspiring posts of the week” because they are worth it. I am obsessed with quotes. Reading this post was like as if I am sleeping in my class and suddenly the teacher comes and hits me with a book. Her scary stare and …. I was awake. [Laughing] Loved this post of yours because I am sick and tired of reading all the famous non-famous quotes again and again. I am worn out and need a dose of new ones.

    • Thank you, SOnia. You’re right, I love quotes, too, but as you said, how many times do we have to see “fail to plan/plan to fail” and its ilk? On Facebook, especially, some of the “self-help” variety, get so syrupy my keyboard starts to stick! I’d like to see people finding less stale quotes from their own reading, instead of simply sharing the same ones from all these quote sites.

      • SOnia says:

        I completely agree with you and am glad to see that there is someone out there who thinks like that.

  7. Pingback: Blah Blah Blah — Less Blabbing, More Thinking | Act Like You Mean Business

Leave a Reply

